Municipal Unit of Finikas

Diesen Text auf Deutsch lesen


… consists of the ten local communities – alphabetically (a total of 30 settlements):

Agios Vasilios

Agios Ioannis (with Kali Sikia and Kanevos)

Angouselliana (with Paleoloutra)

Asomatos (with Kato Moni Preveli and Pisso Moni Preveli)

Koksare (with Atsipades, Katsogrida and Pale)

Lefkogia (with Ammoudi, Giannou and Schinaria)

Mariou (with Palea Taverna)

Mirthios (with Kalipso, Kampos, Kokkina Chorafia (= western part of Damnoni) and Plakias)

Rodakino (with Ano-, Kato Rodakino and Korakas)

Sellia (with Plakias and Souda).


Plakias is not an independent district (not even as an electoral district) – it is a subdivision of both Sellia and Mirthios, i.e. the part to the west of the Kotsifou River is administered by Sellia, the part to the east by Mirthios.

Until 1997 the name for today’s municipality Finikas (including today’s municipality Lambi) was: Province (eparchia – επαρχία) Agios Vasilios. In the course of the implementation of the ‘Kapodistria-Programme of 1997’ (comprehensive Greek community reform) the term ‘province’ was abolished and replaced by the term ‘community’ (Dimos – Δήμος), which until then only applied to urban communities. The province of Agios Vasilios became the independent municipality of Finikas (Dimos Finikas) and had its administrative seat (town hall) in Plakias.

The already elsewhere mentioned Kallikratis law of 2010 for the renewed reform of the political structure of Greece led to the fact that the former independent municipality of Finikas as the new municipal unit of Finikas was subordinated to the new overall municipality of Agios Vasilios (together with the also previously independent municipality of Lambi)

The name of the municipality goes back to the once lively village of Finikia, located above Souda Bay and of which only ruins are left.



Diesen Text auf Deutsch lesen

Updated: 15.09.2021 — 21:22

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *